Introducing….Bethany

Posted: August 7, 2014 by bethanymporter in Run, Swim, Training, Triathlon, Weight Loss
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know really where to start my story.  Maybe just introduce myself and then go from there.  My name is Bethany, I’m Matt’s younger sister.  My story is a lot different than his, but hopefully they will both end the same, with a Triathlon.

When I was 16 years old I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome {PCOS}, one of the side effects is that it makes it difficult for people with PCOS to lose weight.  My weight is something I have struggled with as long as I can remember.  I would be able to lose 20-30 pounds then gain all of it back, plus some.  I tried everything, a nutritionist, weight watchers, a personal trainer, having a doctor monitored diet and just tracking what I was eating, and so much more.  Nothing seemed to work for me and I finally decided to pursue my options.  I was unhealthy and unhappy.  I began looking into bariatric weight loss surgery and decided that it was the right decision for me.  After working with my surgical weight loss center for almost 4 months I was able to get the gastric sleeve on June 26, 2014.  My highest weight with them was 250 pounds, something I am so ashamed to admit.  However, as of today I am 6 weeks out and have lost 53 pounds, I am down to 197.  My goal weight is to be between 120-130 pounds.

I have noticed so many differences in myself, I am more confident, I’m not afraid to put myself out there and I began running with my dog, Levi.  I promised my brother that next year I would do a triathlon with him…a sprint triathlon, I’m not crazy or delusional enough to think that in a year I would be able to compete in a full one.

I don’t want to get into my surgery and the trouble I have had with it because that’s not why I’m here.  I’m here to document my training and what I am doing to succeed.  If anyone has questions about the surgery I’m happy to answer them I just don’t want that to be the focus.  Just know that having a weight loss surgery should be your last option, it is not the easy way out by any means and it changes your ENTIRE life.  Thankfully, it has changed mine for the better.

I want to make myself a better athlete, I want to be in shape, I want to be healthy and I want to do it for me.

I have started researching how to compete in a triathlon, I am working on building my endurance when I run, and I will soon begin riding my bike regularly.  Swimming has always been easy for me and I know that it will be my easiest (and I say that knowing that it will still be difficult) portion of the race.

Anyway, so that’s my story.  Stick around as I will try to update this as I hit my struggles, have my successes and everything in between.  Oh, and maybe my brother will start writing more….

 

 

Leave a comment